Message sent from:

St Peter's CE Primary School Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Planning within the EYFS follows the schools’ Medium Term Plans (MTP’s), which are based around half termly themes. and Development Matters. The EYFS staff will often alter these MTP’s in response to the needs (achievements and interests) of the children.  

We employ the three characteristics of effective teaching and learning in our planning; playing and exploring, active learning, creating and thinking critically. Learning is planned and purposeful with a mixture of child-initiated and teacher initiated activity. The seven areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, incorporating a balance of adult and child led activities, supported by class based age appropriate formalised learning where it would deepen and extend learning to adopt this approach.  We assess and record children’s independent learning and set individualised targets to support them in achieving their Early Learning Goals.

National Curriculum







Foundation Subjects

To provide a curriculum that: provides children with the opportunity to explore and understand the local, national and international contexts that affect their lives and contribute to the community in which they live. To provide a relevant curriculum which: reflects the children's interests, provides opportunities for choice and empowers the learner.
To provide a curriculum which is process based: creating opportunities for children to explore, investigate, create, reflect, review, adapt and develop their ideas to enable them to become life- long learners. To provide a curriculum that: enables children to make connections, explore relationships, identify patterns, to develop and apply their skills and to acquire relevant knowledge.
To provide a curriculum that: recognises and develops self- belief, self-confidence and self-esteem enabling children to understand themselves and their role in society. To provide a challenging curriculum that: inspires all, stimulates curiosity and imagination, reflects the richness of cultural diversity and provides learners with memorable experiences.

Where possible, links are made to create a whole topic based unit. 

PSHE is taught through the SEALs resources.
Link: www.pshe-association.org.uk 

RE is taught using the Blackburn Diocese Curriculum. This teaches children the key Christian values as well as popular bible stories, religious festivals, the church and the important beliefs of Christians. It is also important to introduce and teach pupils the other major religions including their beliefs, teachings, practices and effects. These religions include Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism, Buddhism and Judaism.


To be reviewed September 2016

Hit enter to search